Mixr Media acquires lots of used domains for potential expansion sites. It would seem like some of them, notably fineweek.com and okeh.com, have been used extensively by spammers. Today, I got email from a Mr. Troy Watson asking me to be responsible and do something about it. Here’s the entirety of that email:

I would appreciate if you would eliminate me from all of your data bases. I recieve 10 e-mails a day from you and request to be removed and get nowhere. Please be responsible.

To be clear, Mixr Media does NOT send spam email. We rarely send any emails at all. So the only responsible thing I can think of doing is to educate people of what is happening. You see, there’s a problem called email spoofing that allows people to alter email headers and make it seem like it’s coming from virtually any email account. I’ll allow Wikipedia to go into more detail about email spoofing. So while emails are being sent using our newly acquired domains, we aren’t the ones sending them. With the inherent flaws in email protocols, there also isn’t much we can do. One email expert I talked to suggested that you can create spf records for our domains which basically acts as an email identity check. However my experience tells me very few email servers actually check these spf records for authenticity.

So to sum up, people can use any email address to send spam and there’s not much you, me, or Mixr Media can do about it. My advice, spam emails (and all its insidious forms) is a part of life so switch to the best email filter in life, gmail. I get 40k (and rising) spam emails a month through all my accounts. Gmail is my spam filter and my sanity because it catches 99.99% of that 40k spam.

More info about email spoofing, google “email spoofing”.



0 Comments